Home   About us   Enquiry   Contact us  
  Diocess in AP
  Regional Bodies
  Television Dept
  Audio recording studio
  Audio visual list
  Bharatha Mithram
  RVA Telugu Section
  LATINE RITE    -  Province: Vishakapatnam  

Hyderabad was first made a Vicariate in 1851 and Msgr. Daniel Murphy was appointed the first Vicar Apostolic.


The diocese of Hyderabad was established on September 1, 1886. Msgr. Peter Caprotti, PIME, became the first Bishop of Hyderabad. It was raised to the status of an Archdiocese on September 19, 1953. Bishop Mark Gopu became the first Archbishop.


Over the years many new dioceses were created from the original territory of the Archdiocese. In 1928 districts of Raichur and Gulbarga were detached to form the diocese of Bellary. Krishna and West Godavari districts were detached in 1937 for the erection of the diocese of Vijayawada. Diocese of Warangal was established in 1952 with the districts of Warangal, Khammam, Nalgonda and Karimnagar. In 1976 the new diocese of Nalgonda was formed with Mahabubnagar district of Hyderabad Archdiocese and Nalgonda district of Warangal diocese.


Marathi speaking areas of the Archdiocese were detached in 1978 to form the diocese of Aurangabad. Khammam was made a new diocese in February, 1988. On June 18, 1982 the district of Bidar was entrusted to the pastoral care of Mangalore diocese.


The Archdiocese with an area of 30,814 sq. kms. and with a total population of around 12.37 million, has about 87,541 Catholics. It has 107 diocesan and 116 Religious priests, 37 Brothers and 729 Religious Sisters are active in 72 parishes, including one parish of Malankara rite. 


At present the Archdiocese has four districts of Andhra Pradesh - Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak and Nizamabad.




Born : Oct. 07, 1942

Priestly Ordn.: Dec. 14, 1971     

Episcopal Ordn.: Mar. 19, 1992




Archbishop's House

9-1-17/1 Sardar Patel Road

Secunderabad - 500 003.


Tel: (040) 27 80 55 45, 27 80 54 18 (O),

27 80 07 09 (P)     

Fax: (040) 27 71 80 89  

Mobile: 09 84 80 10 950

E-mail: abphydmjoji@rediffmail.com



Area: 30,814 sq. kms.

Total population: 12.37 million

Catholics: 87,541

Languages spoken: Telugu, English, Tamil, Malayalam and Hindi.

Revenue districts: Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak and Nizamabad.



Diocesan Clergy: 107

Religious Priests: 116

Religious Brothers: 37

Religious Women: 792

No. of Parishes: 72

Houses of Women Religious: 37

Houses of Men Religious: 15


Formation Houses

Major Seminary: 01      

Seminarians: 35 

Minor Seminary: 01      

Seminarians: 20


No. of Educational institutions: 146

P. G. Depts / Colleges: 05       

Students: 639

B. Ed. Colleges: 01       

Students: 125

Colleges: 21

Students: 6,209

Technical Institutions: 04      

Students: 221

Collegiates (P.U.C.): 11      

Students: 8,407

Sr. Secondary Schools(10+2): 01

Students: 895

High Schools (10th std.): 61

Students: 89,215

Primary Schools: 63 

Students: 89,499

Hospitals: 09

Beds: 645

Dispensaries: 10

Beneficiaries (Annual)....62,672

Other Institutions: 06 

Beneficiaries (Annual): 958

Copyrights @ 2005 Amruthavani Communication Centre
Powered by Globus Technologies